Prayer and Work

virginiajung5

Being unaware of how things worked, when I first set up this blog, the title was virginiajung5 which is the gmail address I used to log in to wordpress. I wasn’t liking it too much as the title and thinking I was stuck with it, I wondered, what meaning can I give it?

The 4  cardinal points and the 1 center DSCN0808= 5 , I realized. At summer camp in Wisconsin, I first learned of praying turning to the 4 directions and that the center is where I am right now. Years later, I relearned that prayer again from a friend returned from treatment in the Southwest. Eventually, I made this Native American ritual my own. Now sometimes, I pause to figure out where the four cardinal points are (easier in Chicago since the lake is always east). Then I pray: In the name of the Father in the north, and of the Son in the south, and of the Holy Spirit in the west where the sun has set and in the east where the sun will rise again tomorrow and here in the center where I am right now. Then I breathe, sometimes resting in God, sometimes God resting in me. For me, this is a fine prayer.

This fragment of Josef Steinhage’s fresco in St. Walburga Chapel is a good visual representation of how this prayer feels.

This entry was published on April 16, 2013 at 7:44 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

