Prayer and Work

Synchronicity

Parishioners, Pastor and Staff gather on the church steps before setting out  on the long walk downtown to the May Day Rally for Immigration Reform.

Parishioners, Pastor and Staff gather on the church steps before setting out on the long walk downtown to the May Day Rally for Immigration Reform.

Keeping Families Together is the Immigration Reform theme at St. Pius V Parish where I work as a pastoral counselor. In my own little personal world, this represents a wonderful case of synchronicity. Each summer, our prioress assigns each sister a prayer intention for the year and several years ago I was assigned to pray for “just immigration policy”. I struggled with this since, while I believe in it, it felt like too intellectual a topic for deep personal prayer, like I would be distracted from prayer by trying to figure out what a “just immigration policy” might be – other than everyone just go wherever you want. After about a year, I said to the prioress, you know, I pray a lot for families; could I just pray for families – that they be loving, healthy, and have everything that they need? Now, here I am, working at St. Pius V, one of our city’s greatest champions of immigrants and what is the organizing theme – Family –¬† a cause I can pray for and march for!

This entry was published on May 1, 2013 at 8:49 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

