Prayer and Work

When in doubt, take a walk

Having recently experienced what I perceived as setbacks on the path towards a cherished goal, I decided to take a walk out at the track behind the monastery. I was feeling pretty miserable, and looking up and around at the sunlit spring sky, the budding, flowering trees circling the track, and the new green

The track team's hurdles provide a lesson on strength and grace when your eyes and heart are open to it.

The track team’s hurdles provide a lesson on strength and grace when your eyes and heart are open to it.

grass, I understood that this was not the time or place for sadness and that I needed to enjoy the gift of this walk. I also prayed, asking God to show me how to proceed since I felt so daunted in my work towards my dream. After I had circled the track a couple of times, my attention fixed on these hurdles placed at different points along the way. And I understood, that the obstacles I perceive are not high walls; they are not thick doors slammed shut; they are hurdles. With a running start and a fair amount of grace, I will be able to leap right over them in time. I smiled, picturing myself as Jackie Joyner-Kersee flying right over those hurdles. Thanks, God, for prayers answered!

This entry was published on May 9, 2013 at 10:02 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “When in doubt, take a walk

  1. Have you ever noticed how at the end of a walk the mind has advanced while the body has returned to the same place? Pax

Leave a Reply

