Prayer and Work

Thanks for gifts received

This life size bronze sculpture of St. Ignatius Loyola now sits behind the front desk of the Information Commons of Loyola University Chicago. It used to be outdoors at the entrance to the campus, a location I actually preferred because you could easily walk all around it and he wasn’t up so high. The wooden table where he writes and the leather and wood chair that supports him are so like those I used when I studied up in the Literature Department at the University of Seville that this sculpture thrills me every time I see it. It takes me back to the old tobacco factory turned university where I puzzled my way through medieval and baroque poetry and drama as worlds upon worlds opened up to me in those pages.

Today, Loyola alums enjoy the amazing privelege of being able to continue using the university library. The day I took this photo, the young man who checked me in asked if I had a laptop with me, I said no, I came to take out a book! I headed down the long hallway to the part of the library where the actual books are still kept and took out Life in a Jewish Family by St. Edith Stein. I give thanks today for books and for writers, for saints and for scholars, for libraries and for laptops.

Smiling in the morning sunlight, St. Ignatius inspires all who enter to Information Center at Loyola University Chicago

Smiling in the morning sunlight, St. Ignatius is ready to inspire all comers at the Information Commons of Loyola University Chicago

This entry was published on June 5, 2013 at 9:58 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

