Prayer and Work

I think it’s called perseverance

The speaker in a video I watched on the Internet recommended that new bloggers wait until they have 15 posts before announcing their blog to the world. So here goes post #12; step by step, post by post.

Putting one foot in front of the other sometimes as I work towards a goal is a practice I’ve learned when things don’t always come as easily or as speedily as I’d like. As a teacher of preschoolers at Carole Robertson Center for Learning, I learned Ella Jenkins’ wonderful song Well you walk and you walk and you walk and you stop; and you walk and you walk and you walk and you stop… (Repeat indefinitely) In the video I found of her singing it on YouTube, she tells the children she wants to see what kind of discipline they have. Well, ok…

Posting this photo of John the Baptist baptizing his cousin, Jesus, is a motivator for me. I took the photo in January 2011 for just that purpose, to be a reminder because I sensed I would need some along the way. This illuminated window graces the entryway of the student center at Loyola University where I studied for my pastoral counseling degree. In that building, where my classmates and I were taking our course on career counseling, the appearance of this New Testament scene struck me as auspicious indeed because a main goal in studying pastoral counseling was (and continues to be) to establish my own small counseling center in or around our monastery.  The working title for this dream is St. John the Baptist Family Counseling Center. Sometimes I think, River Jordan Counseling Services. At any rate, let it be a place of blessing, healing and knowing oneself as a beloved child of God – and knowing that others are as well!

"You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased." Lk 3: 22c  A stained glass window salvaged from a church and displayed in student center reminds us each of our role in the world.

“You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.” Lk 3: 22c A stained glass window salvaged from a church and displayed in student center reminds us each of our role in the world.

This entry was published on June 13, 2013 at 10:35 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

